Our Lady’s Secondary School Castleblayney is very proud of their most recent past pupils who were recipients of Entrance Scholarships to University College Dublin last week. Hugh Brennan (Economics & Finance), Keshawa Yatagpitiyiya (Science), Mark Hughes (Commerce) and Tiernan Duffy (Business & Law) all from the Leaving Cert class of 2018 were honoured at a ceremony in UCD last week.

These prestigious Scholarships are awarded to students based on their excellent Leaving Cert results, having achieved in excess of 560 points. The four students received their award at a ceremony in UCD attended by Deputy Principal, Finbarr Brohan.

Speaking at the school during the week, Principal, Mr Eddie Kelly offered his congratulations to the fourstudents who had been awarded scholarships. “These young people have not achieved such spectacular success without alot of hard work and effort. It is fantastic that their application and commitment to their studies has been recognised by their university, they are a credit to themselves and their families and we in Our Lady’s are very proud of their achievements. They are wonderful ambassadors for the school and they epitomise all that is good in Our Lady’s, striving to do their best, to make the most of their talents while remaining true to their core values of honesty, integrity and fair play.  All of the staff join with me in wishing them well in their future endeavours,as we do to all the class of 2018in their chosen career paths and courses.  Of course none of this could happen without the hard work of a very committed and dedicated staff and on behalf of the students I would like to acknowledge their unfaltering committment and interest in the wellbeing of their students.”

Pictured at the presentation of Entrance Scholarships in University College Dublin is four students from the Leaving Cert class of 2018 in Our Lady’s, Hugh Brennan, Keshawa Yatagpitiyiya, Mark Hughes and Tiernan Duffy, who were the recipients of this prestigious award. Also in attendance was Deputy Principal, Mr Finbarr Brohan.